The WinReducer Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

The WinReducer ForumLog in

FORUM

descriptionSize of Install.wim and rebuilding WIM EmptySize of Install.wim and rebuilding WIM

more_horiz
Hi!

I am here new, but as a moder (or likely customzation Razz), I have some experience (I think Wink).

I have moded Vista SP2 (but noobish), 7 SP1 (it was good but with one, two fails), and now I want to mod 8.1.

I see this great tool - Winreducer 8.1 - thanks for it Very Happy.

But I have a couple of questions:

- Firstly: I have clean/delete a great amout of bloatware with Winreducer but the size don't go down spectalcular - just only from 3,1GB install.wim to 2,8GB install.wim

which is sad because I remove a dozen of usless things.

- Second - Does it rebuild WIM with maximum compression ?

- Third - I removed Natural Language for example and it didn't clean all files - why ?

My WCCF file http://www48.zippyshare.com/v/56964622/file.html

- Fourth - maybe it's stupid - but to remove things you must tick the check box yes? - Because now I think that maybe in thsi program is diffrent, because I ticked some many boxes and size don't go down so much :/.

I have cleaned myself image with imagex and it only took out 200mb in WIM - to 2,58GB. And I think that I deleted really good amount, clean WINSXS folder with useless content...

Thanks in advance.

descriptionSize of Install.wim and rebuilding WIM EmptyRe: Size of Install.wim and rebuilding WIM

more_horiz
Hello and welcome,

1) As you know, your ISO size will depend on every components you remove, so you could try to remove "Natural languages" and "input method editor" or even "Windows Recovery Environment". In a future WinReducer build I will add an information size for each components.

2) Yes