The WinReducer Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

The WinReducer ForumLog in

FORUM

description[ANSWERED] General queries re using program Empty[ANSWERED] General queries re using program

more_horiz
Hi I am new to using the program.  I had to convert original esd in W.81 updates ISO/extracted folder to make wim file folder instead and then converted back new wim to esd and esd-ISO- hope this is correct procedure - I used winreducer wimconvertor.

Now when I want to add further updates in a few months time do I just load the folder with modified WIM and add new updates to this and again convert to new esd ISO for future use or have to repeat converting to wim from orig esd and then full update etc?

Also the preset tab for desktop -shutdown, restart etc - are the blank fields to rename these to what want or what meant to do here - can't find info on tutorial pdf?
Surprised
Also adding software from software folder under post install tab obee- do you need to add all files and folder or either?  Where do software files go - can't locate them on created iso so not sure if added correctly?

Furthermore - can winreduced ISOs or USBs/Wim files with alll updates and software added be used to refresh/reset an existing windows install the same way as original disks and is the refresh in windows 8/8.1 the same as xp's in place repair/upgrade so can also put existing windows to another motherboard or pc in case current one fails?

description[ANSWERED] General queries re using program EmptyRe: [ANSWERED] General queries re using program

more_horiz
1. no you can use that already modified .wim/.esd file to integrate updates in the future. (if you dont remove componets)
but if you remove some components it could be that when you integrate updates (in the future) that they will fail to integrate because components that are needed for those updates are missing